Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

Jackets?

3K views 15 replies 13 participants last post by  ALStensby 
#1 ·
When I sold the Harley, I had a ton of accessories I sold on the web-- including 3 high dollar jackets. My intentions was to go to EBay and replace them with Victory leather jackets. This has been an ongoing process just trying to make up my mind.

The extra time provided my my "indecision" lead me to look at other jackets and what I discovered is that other "motorcycle specific" jackets are a much better deal---especially when you buy used from somebody with a good feedback rating on EBay.

What I got was a Joe Rocket Atomic 4.0 like new for $59. I have been riding since 1976 and have never worn anything but leather, so I was a bit skeptical. I must say that I am impressed! Keep in mind that I still love leather, but this jacket is a new concept in apparel. So I asked myself why I did not try this earlier, and I have no answer unless just not wanting to look like the rice rocket crowd.

So what do you wear and WHY? If you say leather--- then I also ask if you have ever tried a jacket made especially made for bikes that is not leather?

#2 ·
I've worn a mix of different material jackets over the years, and sadly have only been off a bike on a rare occassion I wasn't wearing much. Lesson learned.

You'll usually find me wearing some comfortable but thick cargo pants that are kevlar lined, and this jacket. Cooler temps I leave the windproof liner in, warmer temps not. I've been fortunate enough to have never tested it with asphalt, but seems solid and has decent padding (back, shoulders, elbows).

This one's Joe Rocket as well, leather/mesh mix, original logos are blacked out, and I added a couple iron on patches I bought online. Folks now know what kind of bike I'm riding (you all know that look as other riders stare in envy trying to figure out what it is).

Attachments

#4 ·