quick handlebar question - Victory Forums - Victory Motorcycle Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-11-2013, 06:41 PM Thread Starter
ek1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: N. Illinois
Posts: 43
Default quick handlebar question

I searched high and low and couldn't find info on this. I'm trying to put highball handlebars on my 04 Kingpin. Site says they only fit 08 and up, but I though all the KP's were the same? I'd appreciate advice!

2004 Kingpin, stage 1, 1.5" drop, 12" mini apes
ek1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-11-2013, 08:53 PM
Senior Member
 
lawnstriper's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: South central , PA
Posts: 230
Default quick handlebar question

Not to high jack your thread , but I ran into a similar problem when I was on eBay looking for a new side cover for battery side. Seller stated on the listing " will not fit 04 Kingpin" . The ones he was selling were off of an 08 if I remember right. Surely someone knows why they are different or are they ?
They don't look different to my eyes.

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

2001 V92C(sold)
2004 Kingpin
lawnstriper is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-12-2013, 10:25 AM
Senior Member
 
jaysonL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Broad Top, Pa
Posts: 690
Default

I think I read somewhere that the wiring harness was changed in 08. But I could be wrong.

2009 Kingpin 8 Ball
Freedom Performance sharp curve radius pipes
Cross Roads bags mounted with Witchdoctor brackets
Kingpin tour tins
jaysonL is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 03-12-2013, 11:36 AM
Senior Member
 
visionjohnny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: minnesota
Posts: 12,947
Default

I'm sure there referring to stock.
You two being custom can do and make fit the way you want them to.
That doesn't mean you can't use them on your 04

2008 Vision
Mpls, MN.

Please add your state and model of bike you have. Click user CP @ top of page and then far left click edit signature. Thanks
visionjohnny is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-01-2013, 11:47 PM
New Member
 
nomis0708's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: cottage grove , oregon.
Posts: 18
Default handlebars

They want to much for those anyway just look for springer ape hanger bars , they will fit put a pair from Todd's cycle on my 07 kingpin just a tiny bit of knurling shows maybe a 16th of an inch you have to really stare to see it. Found them on eBay for $120! Only had to replace front brake line.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2012-11-26_17-07-25_8.jpg (30.8 KB, 27 views)
nomis0708 is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-02-2013, 11:39 AM Thread Starter
ek1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: N. Illinois
Posts: 43
Default

Thanks Nomis! Those look real nice. Now I gotta find em in black

2004 Kingpin, stage 1, 1.5" drop, 12" mini apes
ek1 is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-21-2013, 01:04 PM Thread Starter
ek1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: N. Illinois
Posts: 43
Default

Nomis, I just ordered my 12" apes from Todd's. Did you need new cables with yours?

2004 Kingpin, stage 1, 1.5" drop, 12" mini apes
ek1 is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-21-2013, 03:02 PM
New Member
 
nomis0708's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: cottage grove , oregon.
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ek1 View Post
Nomis, I just ordered my 12" apes from Todd's. Did you need new cables with yours?
The only line I needed to replace was the brake line which I purchased from Santa Rosa V-Twin I don't remember how much. Are you going to run your wires through the bars?
nomis0708 is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-21-2013, 03:30 PM Thread Starter
ek1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: N. Illinois
Posts: 43
Default

I'm going to leave the cables external for now. Thanks for the advice!

2004 Kingpin, stage 1, 1.5" drop, 12" mini apes
ek1 is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 09-22-2013, 06:54 PM
New Member
 
nomis0708's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: cottage grove , oregon.
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ek1 View Post
I'm going to leave the cables external for now. Thanks for the advice!
I don't think you can run the cables internally but on my 07 kingpin there was 11 wires on the clutch side and 10 on the throttle side so I made extensions and ran them through the bars , that cleaned it up real nice. I didn't want to drill holes in the bars to plug in the darts that hold the wires tight to the stock bars. Do you have the stock indicator light panel on the top triple tree or do you have a digital speedometer with indicator lights? If you need any more tips let me know.
nomis0708 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Victory Forums - Victory Motorcycle Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools Search this Thread
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome