Victory Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I've replaced an old throttle body boot, cleaned the injectors, new gaskets and o rings. It's still backfiring and hesitating to the point where it's unsafe to ride. I have not checked the fuel pressure yet. I have checked the coil, and I'm getting no resistance on the secondary side--zero reading. Any ideas or insights would be helpful. Thanks.

·
Registered
5 Posts
I have the same issue 03 vegas. Checked fuel pressure and it was 30psi. I'm a auto mechanic by trade and and even a 20psi drop in fuel pressure can cause these issues on a full size vehicle. Usually more on the hesitation and misfire. I ordered a pump, regulator and strainers. They'll be here tomorrow. I'll give a update once I'm done. Most of my research on these is usually a cracked oring around the regulator causes a drop in fuel pressure. I also ordered the intake boot as well because mine is original and has cracks. Just hoping the seals around the plug and outlet line are fine because I couldn't find anything on them. Really is a pain in the tail to find parts for these bikes.

Another thing. Swing by AutoZone or another part store that does tool rentals and grab a fuel pressure gauge it's takes a Ford adapter. Smaller than the gm one. Usually the kit comes with 3 different ones.

·
Registered
5 Posts
The seals that go in/on the tank for the pressure line that feed the injectors. I ordered the pump, strainer, regulator, and new lines from Quantum. I hope it's a good pump. Honestly all aftermarket parts now a days are a gamble. You never know.

·
Registered
14 Posts
The seals that go in/on the tank for the pressure line that feed the injectors. I ordered the pump, strainer, regulator, and new lines from Quantum. I hope it's a good pump. Honestly all aftermarket parts now a days are a gamble. You never know.