Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 52 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I've tried Victory, Rotella & Klotz oils up until now. Found no issues with any. Didn't find the Rotella to be any better than the victory. The Klotz is a great oil but expensive at about $14.00 a quart so I figured I'd try the new Victory 20w40 Amsoil. I'm no oil analyst but I have been racing & was a mechanic for over 35 years so I have some experience with oils. Generally I have a preference for synthetics but I use the sight sound touch method to make a decision on what I use. Have to say I always thought Amsoil was a good product but not as good as their advertising campaign as they push a little hard for my taste. So...I decided to try the new 20w40 v-twin Victory/Indian oil to see what happened. Have to say I am impressed. Motor is definitely quieter in the valve train which we all know to be an issue with our motors. Also feels like the motor is running cooler than it was before & that doesn't suck. Did try slipping the clutch as well. 6th gear, full throttle, 30 mph. NO CLUTCH SLIPPAGE AT ALL. just thought I'd post what I found as everybody on here try to look out for each other. I know a lot of guys talk about oil bases & full syns. vs partials blah blah blah. All I know is after all the years of using everything under the sun I know what is the same from what's different. Thanks for reading ??

·
Registered
313 Posts
I had three clutch slippage instances this summer. I was using the new Amsoil product you describe as well, put it in at 500 miles. I switched back to Vic fluid at 5000 miles on my XC to see if it changes anything. I Probably won't know till next spring/summer, gonna get cold here soon.

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That's odd. Never seen any oil make a clutch slip once in a while. To be clear wasn't recommending any oil just relating what I found

·
Registered
63 Posts