Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok just checked the belt on my gunner after 1000km. According to the book, 6mm at 10lbs force is the requirement. I think i was probably 1-1.5 but the belt felt good. SO I adjusted it to 6mm EXACTLY. Taken readings ever 90 degrees on the belt and was 6mm all around. So went out for a ride and first thing I noticed was a strange noise around the drive gears. Came back after a while and checked the belt right away (I know don't check when belt is hot). I couldn't even move the belt 1mm! is was so flipping tight it wouldn't take a genius to figure it wasn't good. So my question is where did Victory get 6mm tension? I am new to belts but just feeling how tight the belt was with my hand after the ride I knew that wasn't right. Any ideas? Thx all

·
Premium Member
4,178 Posts

·
Premium Member
4,178 Posts
ok, did you follow the manual , was the tire off the ground , or not suppose to be by chance ? after riding and they warm up they tighten up , if the bike was in the air and adjusted , when you set it down it will tighten.

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

·
Registered
1,399 Posts
i set my 13 hammer to spec + it also seemed tight, after adding a longer penske shock similar to S model i used that spec, seemed tight so i just added a little slack, no noise except when it rubs against pulley, if so readjust. i feel its better to be a little loose as not to wear the bearings from too much tension

·
Premium Member
9,684 Posts