Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, I'm a professional auto technician, and not afraid to admit I know absolutely jack about v-twins. So - that being said, I know Victory recommends only their 20w40 semi syn to be used, other posts about amsoil and mobil 1, but what about valvoline 20w50 4cycle motorcycle oil? Bottle says engineered for todays wet clutch systems or something to that effect. This is mostly directed to kevin and diamond, but anyone with good knowledge about this can help. thanks....

·
Registered
50 Posts
That oil will be ok. The 20w part will make it hard to start in the winter months here in Ohio, I know from experience. The 50 just means it will withstand more heat than the 40 before it breaks down. I run Mobil 1 10w40 motorcycle racing oil, but I ride in the cold. I contacted Mobil and they recommended this oil for my bike. 10w is for as cold as -4 fareneheit and 20w for 32 farenheit. Victory recommends the 20w40 becasue no one else makes it and they want the sale. The Victory is only semi-synthetic also and I prefer full synthetic. Check out this link. It doesn't rate the Valvoline very well and it doesn't rate the Victory oil well in some areas either. Amsoil and Mobil are always in the top. What ever brand you go with 1ow40 or 20w50 will be fine in your bike as long as it is for wet clutch applications. The oil you are questioning finished 11th place out of 17 oils for the 20w50. The Victory oil finished 4th place out of 15 oils in the 10w40.

http://www.amsoil.com/lit/g2156.pdf

·
Registered
50 Posts
It's kind of funny. I just noticed we are both from Ohio and we both have birthdays on May 29 just a couple years apart.

·
The Diamond
4,001 Posts
LMAO!! An oil thread. This is a subject of much much debate. Amsoil users and dealers swear by it. Others swear by Rotella T.