Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off I'm new on here, names Cody. Thanks in advance for any help you guys can give me. Before I owned this bike it was my buddies and I rode it quite often. I've been more of a sport bike kind of guy (guess that's the kid in me) but I love this hammer 8 ball. Anyways here's my problem....

I have a 2010 victory hammer 8 ball and it won't start. It sat for about 3 months with no fuel in the tank. Got it out, slapped a new battery on it and fueled it up and it cranked right up. Rose it for a day and a half then it acted like its starving for fuel. I checked battery, fuel pump, spark plugs and wires. Everything I know to check. It cranks great and has good voltage just won't catch or turn over if you will. Even tried a little starting fluid and I got nothing. Any help would be so much appreciated. I'm new to owning a victory and new to the forum.

·
Premium Member
8,699 Posts
Dunno mate these new fangled modern machines leave me out in the cold if they stop and its not out of fuel.
Basics, compression, fuel, ignition.
First undo your battery connections and thoroughly clean them then retighten them. May as well fit star washers to the bolts when you do it as theyre notorious for loosening.
Then smear di-electric grease over them.
Has it got plenty of fresh fuel in the tank? Sounds silly but Ive helped a few broken down riders in the past who were actually out of fuel!
Spark? Has it got spark at the plugs?
Make sure the plug is earthed to the motor so you dont fry the ignition...has it got a good spark on both plugs? While you got em out you might as well do a compression check as well.
This post will bump you back up the top where one of our experts can maybe help.
Good Luck.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3