Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 42 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am hearing a howling sound coming from the rear end pretty consistent above 50 or 60 mph. The faster I go the louder it gets. The sound tone seems to change as I lean the bike. Pretty sure this is a rear wheel bearing to be replaced, but I thought I would post it to see what you guys say.

Im still fairly new to diagnosing and wrenching on my bike.

Thanks!

·
Registered
12,205 Posts
Is the drive belt running hard against one side? Is it properly adjusted at 1-1/4" deflection cold, between the pulleys and bike off the floor? After a long ride, immediately get off and carefully so you don't get burned one the right muffler, push up on the belt between the pulleys - is it guitar string tight or is there a little slack. Rub some bar soap along the sides of the belt and see if the noise goes away, then its belt adjustment and not a bearing.
Try the above and come back with the answer. If the noise persists, then it may be a bearing. Its not that difficult to replace them if you know which end of the screwdriver is the handle. We're here to help.

·
Registered
4,069 Posts
How many miles on your bearings? Besides what RICZ said the noise could also be from the tire. I'd check the simple things first before jumping to the bearings...they seem to hold up well in Vics and don't typically need changing until the bike is way up in miles.

·
13,003 Posts
simple test when you hear the sound pull in the clutch. If sound stops its the belt. If you still hear it could be bearings. All Balls has some good bearings. As good as OEM or better

http://www.allballsracing.com/25-1382.html

·
Registered
12,205 Posts
The good news part is its very easy to remove the rear wheel if you have to. No need to remove the pipes.

·
Registered
266 Posts