Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2,084 Posts
Throughout the WOT power band, does the optimal AFR get progressively leaner as RPM's climb? Like 12.5:[email protected] and like 13.5:[email protected]?
Let me say at the start that I have no knowledge in this area, I can't carry on an intelligent conversation about AFRs, let alone about engines in general, and so forth.

I am responding only because last week I went to Lloydz Motorwerkz, had a PCV (and Lloydz air filter) installed, and Lloyd himself did a lengthy dyno run to map the PCV's cells. This mapping was done at assorted throttle openings and RPMs, and then repeated for the other cylinder. Attached is the dyno run when he had finished the process, which shows -- it seems to me -- a constant AFR. Lloyd says that the final numbers for my bike were "very good" (given those changes).

So, FWIW and in hopes that this sheds some light on your question, see attached (or, in larger, clearer, form, http://www.billanddot.com/Lloydz-Motorworks-Dyno-Run-2014-09-02.pdf on my web site).

Sorry that's all I can offer. Maybe someone else can discuss these results more meaningfully.

Attachments

·
Registered
290 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
He was tuning the whole throttle spectrum for each RPM range to maximize power and efficiency at all throttle positions and RPM's. I'm just curious about what the AFR usually looks like at WOT through the powerband.

Let me say at the start that I have no knowledge in this area, I can't carry on an intelligent conversation about AFRs, let alone about engines in general, and so forth.