Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
217 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Having owned nothing but Japanese bikes so far and nothing but water cooled. I was wondering how prone this bike may be to over heating? This bike is high on my list of "next bike" list. I got caught on I95 in the bronx a couple years ago on my Kaw 900LT for about 2 hours to do 3 or 4 miles. I am not sure how an air cooled bike would have made it thru that. Only other thing I wish they would do is put the idiot switch on the kickstand. Its a nice safety feature to have.

·
Premium Member
287 Posts
Im still new to Victories myself, have my XC for only about 5 months. But first they are not air cooled they are Oil Cooled, so that helps. I have not heard of any overheating issues with the Vics yet, your legs might get hot though:D

·
Registered
72 Posts
You will feel a little heat at a stop on a hot day but if you have ever ridden a Harley in the summer you will love this bike, night and day. The Victory is air cooled but does have an oil cooler that helps pull the heat out of the motor, combination of both, some would ague semantics, the cooler and the air going across the motor. Harley also has an oil cooler but it only circulates the oil in the crankcase. Victory actually circulates the oil through the cylinders, guess where all the heat is generated? Exactly, the cylinders. Victory actually downsized their oil coolers in the beginning because they had a problem warming the engine up. You ever get a chance look on YouTube, there's some videos of the Victory motor cut away next to a Harley motor cut away. Pretty interesting when you compare the two, Victory took the time and engineered a motor from the ground up, did it right the first time.

·
Registered
72 Posts
Heres the link, Im sure this has been around the block a few times but if you have'nt seen it check it out. I think he might even talk about the oil cooling the heads.

·
Registered
1,858 Posts