Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok I'm new to my Kingpin but in the UK this 20-40 is hard to find and expensive. Can I use 20-50 or 10-40 semi? Harleys run happily on 20-50 so why not Victory?

If this topic has been done to death then apologies and direct me to the link!

Thanks and hi to all

·
The Diamond
4,001 Posts
Not sure about the weight question but in regard to HD running it. HD's are not Vic's and are very very different. First off the tranny and engine share the same oil on a Vic.

What may work on an HD may not work for Vic.

I'm sure Kevin will chime in about the weight.

·
Registered
136 Posts
Ive been using Amsoil 10-40 for awhile now and really like it. In the summer time 20-50 is fine, its more of a hot weather oil. 10-40 is alittle better for cooler weather and wont be as thick and protect alittle more with cold starts beings it will pump through the engine sooner then a 20 will when cold. Both weights are fine during warm weather but i would recommend a 10-40 for the cooler weather. A good oil with out friction modifiers will be fine. Most car oils add friction modifiers to be slicker but all that will do in any wet clutch setup is make the clutch slip. Theres a fine line between slick and too slick with any wet clutch system and ive ran Amsoil for years in all my MX bikes and never had a clutch slip. Yes its synthetic but it doesnt have friction modifiers in it and its designed for wet clutches. A good oil changed on a regular basis is all you need. 2500 miles is what vic recommends to change at. I usually get 2500-3000 out of my change. I usually now when its time to change it cause the tranny starts to shift alittle different so i know the oil is breaking down and its time for new stuff.

·
Registered
136 Posts
Mobile 1 V twin oil 20-50 is JASO MA rated and Victory says that is an acceptable alternative.

I am going to try in my 08 Vegas Low with a stage 1 kit