Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
05' Hammer

on an initial startup (cold)...if i dont let the bike warm up for 3-4 minutes, it will die if i try to pop the throttle. it almost wants to act like is carb'd, which i know isnt the case. Its fuel injected, so you should be able to pop the throttle over right away.

ive recently had a tune up and full fuel injection flush. and 7500 miles service.

any thoughts or is this typical.

·
Registered
236 Posts
I'm new to victory too so I'm not some one whos knows a lot about these bikes yet but I've read a lot about them and they say it is very important to let these bike warm up, most say a couple min before riding.

·
Registered
1,499 Posts
Yes, they are fuel injected but the the V92 likes their warm up time (about 2-3 minutes, summer getting into it easy out of 1st works best for me). Wait until winter gets here and you are next to a Carbed bike and listen to their hassles vs yours. :ltr:

My start up in warm weather is ignition over with no fast idle, fires up within 2-5 seconds and just let her idle as I am putting my gear on/getting set for the ride. Maybe crack the fast idle just a hair if you want.
Kill the fast idle if I had it on, a couple easy blips on the throttle and off we go. Not so say it may be a little slow on the response until you get past the first mile and I love my leaning so slow and sure wins the race for me. Once at op-temp, runs like a scaddle ape.

Winter start up, open the fast idle just a tad, start and bring it up to about 1300 rpm. 2-5 minute warm up as I am gearing up, keep fast idel on for first mile as I am heavy residential and alot of turns, etc. Come from work, just out to the main road then kill the fast idle. Again, once op-temp (5 min or so) she runs great.