Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everybody,

I'm new to the Victory family, coming up on my one month anniversary with my new Vegas. I rode a Suzuki C50 for 5 years before moving up to the Vegas, and all of my riding has been general around town stuff, with my longest nonstop ride about 45 minutes. I'm starting to venture out on the freeway now and have managed to get my rides up to about an hour, but I'm finding that towards the end of the ride the inside of my hips start to ache, like I've been straining to hold them against the tank or something. I feel like my knees start wobbling away from the tank, nothing out of control, but just an overall shaky feeling.

I'm wondering if this is just part of getting used to riding longer distances, or if there's an issue with my ergonomics. I'm 6'1" and the pegs seem like they are in a nice position, but would it help to move them forward? The grips and handlebars are fine -- my arms haven't felt tired at all, other than some gentle wrist fatigue which I think will mellow out as I ride more.

·
Registered
372 Posts
You may not notice it to be a problem even though it could still be. Victory has long gas tanks and the handlebars are often to far forward to match the relaxed, stretched out stance your legs have so your legs are stretched forward yet your leaning forward. I'd recommend some type of pullback handlebars. I put pullback risors and aftermarket buckhorn bars on my Vegas and it helped the riding position a lot.

·
Registered
2,699 Posts
First of all relax! There's no need to hug the tank with your legs an you really souldn't because you will damage your paint eventually.

Try turning your feet a little on the pegs and resting the back of your boots on the peg and allowing your feet to hang a little in front of the pegs. Changing your feet and leg positions will help with circulation as well as comfort.

·
Premium Member
5,632 Posts
Hi everybody,