Victory Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently bought an 08 vegas 8 ball from a private seller. So far I like the bike very much but I have some questions.

1. It has a black swept dealer installed exhaust. When I start it up there is alot of popping coming from it. The guy I bought it from said thats just the pipes heating up. Is this the case?

2. I've had some backfiring both on deccel and acceleration. I have the exhaust but I believe its the stock intake. Does this have any effect on the backfiring? I've also searched about this on the forum and came to a site that offers a fix that is made for victories. It retails around 250. Does this actually work? Is this the best method or is there a better fix?

I am not a very mechanical guy and do not know all that much about bikes but would like to learn. Any feedback (that isn't too harsh on me) would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.

·
Premium Member
2,646 Posts
If it was dealer installed then you should have a vented cover on the left side, and a little fake chrome thing on the right side of the air box. The pipes are most likely the Vic Sept pipes, and they are known for some drivability issues such as popping

·
Registered
11 Posts
Don't know if this will be any help but the Vic mechanic in my area said that the popping might be caused by faulty exhaust gaskets. I asked the same question about my 08 Vegas and thats the answer I got.

·
Registered
257 Posts
Don't know if this will be any help but the Vic mechanic in my area said that the popping might be caused by faulty exhaust gaskets. I asked the same question about my 08 Vegas and thats the answer I got.
not saying thats wrong but its pretty much just any vic with aftermarket exhaust

·
Registered
11 Posts
I would be interested in the fix that jaycod23 spoke of if it didn't void my warranty. I got a 08 and hate to think I have to listen to the popping for 5 years.

·
Registered
9 Posts