Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK I'm no mechanic so don't laugh too hard when you read this question. Let's say I know someone with a welder. Can the exhaust pipes be cut in half, gutted and welded back together to basically make a straight pipe.

I already have the Stage 1 Kit so are there any drawbacks to this. I want loud pipes but I dont want to ruin the bike or the performance just to do it myself but it seems like gutting them would give me what I want.........NOISE!!!!!!

Advice Please!!!

·
Registered
10 Posts
Your performance would totally go away......not to mention, it would be way more cost effective to just purchase the correct pipe that has a perforated core bafffle for high flow and loud sound!

·
Registered
14 Posts
Sure, it'll give you noise. But your low end tq is going to fall flat. if it was as simple as gutting stock exhausts, aftermarket companies wouldn't exist. spend the money and do it right. just my 2 cents.

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thank guys. That's why I figured I would ask before actually trying it.

·
Registered
12,202 Posts
give me what I want.........NOISE!!!!!!

Advice Please!!!
What do your neighbors, the non riders who vote and most of your fellow motorcyclist want? It ain't your noise. It's self centered yahoos like you that got that law passed in California that made aftermarket and modified pipes illegal. And we all know, that as California goes, so goes the rest of the nation. This world is not about you and what you want, especially if it pisses off everyone around you. Grow up.

·
Registered
14 Posts