Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Finally got my '09 Vegas 8 ball on the road today. This thing is going to take some getting used to. I've owned nothing but sports bikes since I started riding about 10 years ago. I learned on a Honda shadow and tooled around on a couple HDs but this is the first cruiser I've owned.
Pros
Comfortable as a lazy boy. Spent about 2 hours, 100 or so miles, on it today and I feel like I could have spent all day on it without any aches or pains.
It pulls like a freight train. Torque is there on idle, no waiting to rev for power.
Cons
Brakes. Looks like I'm getting close to needing new pads but this thing will definitely not stop on a dime.
Ground clearance. First turn from a stop sign and I was grinding the feeler on the peg.
Damn that transmission is noisey. Almost sounds like a baseball card in a bicycle spoke when going and it thuds when you shift.

I need to get used to the low red line on this thing. The engine speed I'm used to cruising at is above what this thing will spin at. Because of that I might have had it running a little on the hot side. After a little while it would start to backfire if I shut the throttle quickly. I'm not sureif iit's because I hadit running hot or because of the exhaust and intake without any computer work.
I also need to remember not to give it so much gas when taking off from a start. It pulls away from a stop at normal take off speeds without needing to gas it before the clutch is all the way released.
I split the miles. 50 or so solo and the rest with the wife on the back. She loves it. It's comfortable for her and she's not laying on my back when we're on it. I didn't notice her much back there but she's a pretty good passenger in general.

·
13,247 Posts
EBC makes 100% better brake pads then stock
Remember front break first. Rear brake first will put you into a slide and you will crash.

Don't blip the throttle it will kill the motor

·