Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
1,331 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Debating on getting the flu shot. Only had one in my life and of course right after I got sick as a dog. Not sure if it was the shot but weird that it happened that evening after the shot. Now with all these states have an epidemic I am thinking about getting one. Thoughts?

·
Registered
218 Posts
The flu vaccination is a probabilities game. The CDC identifies what they believe is going to be the most common strain for a given season. As a soldier I have no choice but I'd get one anyhow. Some people will experience mild cold/flu like symptoms for a day or so after getting a flu shot. I may have once but it was nothing really and that was long ago. You can still contract a cold or flu even if you get a shot but you will suffer much less and for a shorter period of time. One other thing I always do is drink lots of orange juice if I even think I sence something may be getting ready to come on.

·
Registered
470 Posts
no shot for me! i hate needles , plus i'm afraid it will come up 5 years from now that they cause some other problem. seems like everything they come up with now causes some side effect worse than whatever it should be treating or preventing.

·
Registered
218 Posts
no shot for me! i hate needles , plus i'm afraid it will come up 5 years from now that they cause some other problem. seems like everything they come up with now causes some side effect worse than whatever it should be treating or preventing.
Not a big fan of needles either but shots are quick, getting an IV was always a real joy. We sometimes have the option of a nasal mist which I always take when possible. I'm not a pill popper and never will be but vaccinations don't concern me from a side effect or long term issues standpoint.

·
Premium Member
5,632 Posts