Victory Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
522 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hammer owners,

I was wondering what you kind of bike you rode prior to your Hammer, and what you like or dislike about the handling. What do you like or dislike about the bike in general...

Routine maintenance requirements...what do you find easy or difficult to perform (for those that service their own bikes).

Battery or electrical panel access...well thought out and easy to get to, or a royal pain in the a**....

Brake performance and pad wear....

Tire wear and longevity....

Tech23

·
Premium Member
2,646 Posts
Not an owner, but as a Victory mechanic I have ridden a bunch of them.

Dislikes in handling........
Very heavy feeling in slow speed turns[parking lot]
Requires more "counter steer" then most bikes to keep it in a turn

Likes....
Dual disk front will shed speed like a sport bike
Once you are used to it the bike is very agile in the twisties, and you can really pour it on coming off an apex

Service
Pop off left cover, and you are at the battery for inspection
Add a 10mm wrench, and the battery is on the ground in minutes

Pop off the right cover, ands you are at the fuse box

One drain plug does it all. Engine, primary, and trans all live in a common case

Oil filter is easy access, and does not drain on any part of the bike when you pull it

·
The Diamond
4,001 Posts
My Jackpot is my first bike. I never understood all the talk about the wide tire handling until I got on a buddies Vegas and almost flopped over turning right! Being his first time on a wide tire bike he went into the opposing traffic lane. Luckily no cars were coming. LOL We immediately switched back to our own bikes!

Brake pad wear is up to your style of riding. Most complain about the short life of Vic pads and switch to Lyndall's. They last 15k +!

Tire wear is up to your style of riding.

These bikes are a breeze to do the maintenance on.

·
Registered
522 Posts