Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I replaced my low beam a couple weeks ago with a h7
Bulb from the parts store. Yesterday while riding my friend
Said my headlight was out. I had to ride with the high beam.
High beam is fine. So i replaced the low beam this morning
With another h7 bulb. This time i got the $21 bulb instead
Of the $14 bulb. I changed the bulb and rode about 5 miles
And stopped to check it and it was out again.
Not sure wtf is going on. And no i didn't touch the bulb or
Anything like that. Anyone had this happen?

·
Premium Member
547 Posts
I'm no electrician but, perhaps some sort of surge coming though forcing more power into the light causing it to blow.

·
Registered
87 Posts
Is the bulb actually blown? Check the low beam wiring for any defects in the insulation. Could be grounding out against the housing.

·
Registered
1,858 Posts
I replaced my low beam a couple weeks ago with a h7
Bulb from the parts store. Yesterday while riding my friend
Said my headlight was out. I had to ride with the high beam.
High beam is fine. So i replaced the low beam this morning
With another h7 bulb. This time i got the $21 bulb instead
Of the $14 bulb. I changed the bulb and rode about 5 miles
And stopped to check it and it was out again.
Not sure wtf is going on. And no i didn't touch the bulb or
Anything like that. Anyone had this happen?
Why did you replace it in the first place. Did the original also burn out? Perhaps the h7 is not compatible with these bikes. Have you tried to put the original bulb back in and see if it has any similar problems?

·
Premium Member
4,178 Posts
Have you checked into the victoryhid.com headlight setup? I highly recommend it you already paid for a single bulb setup with what you burnt out.

Sent from Motorcycle.com App

·
Registered
1,208 Posts