Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Fuel issue "fixed"!

My 2006 8 ball is not getting fuel to the cylinders. I've checked the bleed valve with the ignition on and gas only just runs out. Shouldn't this be under pressure? Ignition on and I hear the pump come on for 3 seconds or so and stop, sounds normal. I rode the bike yesterday without any issues. Then today it wouldn't start, cranks and hits a few times and that's it. It will run on starting fluid (I know, it's bad to do this, but I only tried it briefly to see). Battery voltage appears to be fine, even used a second battery when trying to start.

With this said, could it be the filter and if so how do I get to it? I don' have a manual. I figure it's that or the fuel pump seals. Somebody please give me a hand, I have searched till I am blue in the face. The bike has 28K miles and was running just fine yesterday. Yes, I am a newb, to victory cycles anyway.......I am already thinking of getting it running and selling it..

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thanks for the replies, I will try to trace down the problem. Fuel pressure will be the first thing. Could anyone save me the search time and provide me with a link to fuel pump access/removal and rebuild. I am capable of doing the work myself, just don't have a manual. I work full time still (second career due to raising 2 grandkids now), so my time is very limited. Thanks again!

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
SitRep as follows:

1. With fuel line disconnected from "T", fuel pump comes on for approximately 3 seconds, then stops. Shouldn't it stay on since the line is open (no resistance to increase pressure)? There is pressure when it runs, so it is obvious that the pump is working.