Premium Member
186 Posts
6 years. (I got a late start)

Reactions: IndyVictory

·
Registered
2012 Victory Cross Country Tour, Indianapolis
1,669 Posts
2011 bought Honda Rebel off my aunt who got back into riding. Took the basic MSF course in April that year and off I went. :)

So I started at 27 years old, 36 now, riding 9 years.

Most in my family currently ride or did for a very long time. My dad had bikes until I was a young kid and he give up for financial reasons never got back on. I remember burning my leg on exhaust pipe. I learned not to wear shorts on a bike at a young age. My VTX is his if he gets ready for it. :)

·
Registered
12,318 Posts
I started riding (legally) at age 16 in 1952. You do the math.

·
Registered
779 Posts
53 years this year...8)

·
Super Moderator
5,063 Posts
49 years, started with a Montgomery Wards mini bike.

·
Premium Member
8,961 Posts
50 years, starting with crappy mini bikes with Briggs n Stratton motors and the riveted leather drive belts (that used to break often), then a mates brothers trail bike was the first proper bike riding around a grass paddock, at 16 a Yamaha AT2 125cc motocross, then a Honda 50 Stepthru scooter(stop laughing!) Went on a long tour on it till the piston let go.
Then in 1980 I bought a 1979 XS650 Special Yamaha....I was hooked right from the start!
Ride to Live Liveto Ride
63 last month and no sign of growing up, (unless you count stopping drinking 21 years ago)

·
Premium Member
2,258 Posts
Discussion Starter #14
50 years, starting with crappy mini bikes with Briggs n Stratton motors and the riveted leather drive belts (that used to break often), then a mates brothers trail bike was the first proper bike riding around a grass paddock, at 16 a Yamaha AT2 125cc motocross, then a Honda 50 Stepthru scooter(stop laughing!) Went on a long tour on it till the piston let go.
Then in 1980 I bought a 1979 XS650 Special Yamaha....I was hooked right from the start!
Ride to Live Liveto Ride