Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
837 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just for fun--OK. I don't want to make anybody angry or start a war. Back when I started riding in the mid 70's my small Honda never got washed and I rode it every where. It was not comfortable, the bars buzzed, the wheels were wire spokes and if it fell off the kickstand it was not a big deal. Sure it did not cost much and today an aftermarket exhaust for my Vic cost more than that NEW motorcycle.

Fast forward to today. We spend $20,000+ on 2 wheel Lazy Boy recliners and then go to work spending thousands more on $700 seats, $1,000 exhausts, changing the bars, lights, air filter, everything trying to eeek out another ft lb of torque or hp that is really useless since the bikes are really fast enough in stock formation.

After we do all of that, we probably will trade it for the new Indian, Street Glide, Vision, Cross Country, (insert your choice here) and start all over again. If we don't, we most likely are wishing we could.

THIS DOES NOT APPLY TO EVERY BODY and I know that. I am one of the worst on the planet having owned 9 different bikes since 2004. I have logged between 10-15,000 every year so I do not have garage queens. I ride 12 months a year if the temp is 50 or above and I do 2 or 3 12-1500 mile weekend mountain trips and would do more if I were not married. I am trying to go thru ReHab right now and settle down to the way it used to be and settle in with the Kingpin as I do believe it is the best ALL AROUND MULTI FUNCTION bike I have owned--not to mention the coolest looking "motorcycle".