Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
420 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just read Clement Salvadori's article in Rider magazine, about motorcycle addiction. He told of over sixty years of being addicted to motorcycles and motorcycling. He repeatedly gave up other parts of his life to go back to motorcycling. It made me think about having it in your blood. Then I came across this old picture. (I hope I can upload it somehow from my iPad -- it's all I have with me right now, 800 miles from home). It's my Aunt Else, probably about 1950, in West Germany. Her husband, my Uncle Joe (Josef Hochmann) rode. Maybe I had motorcycling in my blood before i ever knew it.

I've been riding since 1977. Most of that time, I didn't have a car. My older son (now 24) rides, but it didn't catch on with my daughter nor my younger son.

How about you? How long have you been riding? Has it been an important part of your life, or just something you happen to do on a weekend now and then? Did anyone in your family ride and pass it down to you?

Attachments

·
Premium Member
1,448 Posts
Yes, I had a Uncle that rode. He got me interested in the mid 60's. I have had a motorcycle off and on since my mid teens. I have riding continuously for the last 15 years. I have had a motorcycle license for over 47 years.

·
Registered
33 Posts
My uncle rode and my Dad a little in New Zealand in their Uni days, but they never told us much or encouraged us offspring.
I only took it up recently in my 50's, but wish I'd found the culture and friendship earlier

I like this short film about a kiwi boy experiencing just this feeling in Canada
https://www.yahoo.com/news/15-minute-harley-commercial-want-221221168.html

·
Registered
742 Posts
I only took it up recently in my 50's, but wish I'd found the culture and friendship earlier