Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
222 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yeah the title's a bit over dramatic, but here's the story. As we all know the Victory Kingpin is one of the best riding and handling cruisers ever in addition to its stunning looks. Today on my way into work I had to put those qualities to the test. On the I215 freeway in San Beranrdino, CA at about 65-70mph the car up ahead of me suddenly has smoke coming up from underneath. I think "Uh-oh, this clown locked up his brakes". I ease on the brakes and check traffic- He's pretty far ahead, but if I need to I can go over to the left. I notice he's not slowing down much, but now I see a few bits of metal bouncing out of my lane to the right. I start to ease to the left as I know that's clear. That's when I hit the oil slick. Both tires slid, but regained traction after some major fishtailing/wobbling. I'm no pro, so it's a testament to how well this machine was designed that I didn't go down in the center of a very busy freeway. After recovering, I saw the car pulling over and realized the smoke was probably his engine blowing. A very scary few seconds in an hour-long commute that will keep me a kingpin lover for as long as I live.

·
Premium Member
4,498 Posts
You not over compensating/reacting saved you... The KP's handling characteristics helped you. Glad to hear you rode out of it!

·
Registered
12,239 Posts
Good save King. Apparently, you ride with a safety cushion ahead of you--very smart. I see so many riders tailgating and I'm reminded of a sign I saw at a military base long ago; Tailgaters make ends meet. They sure do. So happy you came through that incident unscathed.

·
Premium Member
4,178 Posts
Its not tailgating, its drafting! Dont you watch nascar! haha!

Good save by the way!!

Sent from Motorcycle.com App

·
Registered
222 Posts
Discussion Starter #5