Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is a pic of the V92 I just recently bought. I picked it up for practically nothing knowing there was a lot wrong with it. When I picked it up, the battery was dead, but he told me the starter was toast anyway. In his words "He blew the rear piston" (whatever that means:crzy:) because the back jug was knocking. Knowing worst case scenario I could put another engine in it, I brought it home.
I am going to keep this thread up I hope and maybe y'all can check up on me and my progress. I am not a motorcycle mechanic, but I am an aviation mechanic, so even though I am not very familiar with these bikes, I know my way around a toolbox. I am open to all suggestions and advice!

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
First thing, I put the charger on the battery, and got MFD to display. It was showing 11.8 volts, and I am wondering if that could be the starter issue. I have heard that the starter relay won't work if the voltage is too low.
First order of business is getting a battery in the next week or so. I also noticed that the main frame ground behind and below the battery box is kinda suspect. The frame is powder coated, and the coat extends underneath the grounds. That is high on the list of things to check out as soon as it gets warm enough outside.
Here is another pic:

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Nice ! Look forward to the progress updates ....
Thanks, the pictures here don't do it justice that's for sure! I will be getting many more of those as well.

·
Registered
1,430 Posts
Turn over?