Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
185 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I've been eyeing the Hammer for about 2 years now and finally decided to retire my BMW R1200C for something American-made and a bit less costly to own/maintain. I really liked the look of the toxic green color scheme, so I started doing some non-localized Craigslist searches when I cam upon an ad for an 07 Hammer S still new at the dealer priced down to $11K. Seemed way too good to be true, but the dealer was about 140 miles away so I figured I'd take an afternoon jaunt over to see for myself. Seemed like a weird, out-of-the-way place for a Vic dealer and it looked like they got WAY more foot traffic for their ATVs and tractors than the Vics. Sure enough, that black and red S really was still new, had 12 miles on the odo, and just hadn't ever been snagged each time a new model year came out. Needless to say, I pulled the trigger and am now a proud owner a beautiful new 07 S model that still has a factory warranty on it! I've already put about 200 miles on the odo and other than breaking my butt on the stock seat, I couldn't be happier. Will definitely have to have it checked over at another dealer--check seals and gaskets for cracking/replacement after sitting so long, but everything sure looks perfect!

I picked up a service manual, put on the Stage 1 slip-ons (I liked the look of the stock exhausts), and am now considering some Victoryonly and Witchdoctor bling along with a few chrome bits and pieces (chrome fender rails, starter cover, kickstand, etc.). Was curious what the consensus was about "must-do" checks, tweaks, issues on these Hammers, or Vic bikes in general with the 100in engine...things that have been known to cause trouble or need attention to avoid even more costly repairs down the road. Anything I absolutely should have at the ready in the garage for wrenching down the road.