Victory Motorcycle Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
608 Posts
Hey guys,

I am the owner of a new 2013 8 Ball, I bought it brand new last month from Hernleys in Elizabethtown PA. Ive been riding since I was 12, ( Ill be 24 soon). Raced motorcross, track days all over the east coast on sportbikes, you name it Ive probably been there, so I consider myself an experienced rider, as well as a Mechanic as that is my profession.

Id just like to get that out there so nobody thinks im new to this.

Anyway,

Within the first 50 miles of a brandnew bike, it shut off on me 4 or 5 times. All of them happen as soon as I pulled in the clutch to downshift. Just shut right off. I took the bike back to the dealer, waited around an hour and was told they found a loose nut on one of the circuits and hopefully it was fixed.

Around a week after that, it has shut off on me several more times, not even 150 miles on the bike yet. Again, each time it happened it was as soon as I pulled the clutch in to down shift. Back to Hernleys.

I took the bike back monday sept 30th. It took over 9 days to get my bike back, as I picked it up October 9th. They told me twice they didnt get a chance to get around to looking at it, and then we had to wait for a part.

I was told they replace the Idle Air Control valve and that, Duane, the owner wanted to talk to me. So we talked, and what he told me was this.

That they went ahead and replaced that part, but it was likely my fault the bike was stalling because;

I AM NOT SUPPOSED TO REV THE BIKE, AT ALL, AS IT CONFUSES THE FUEL INJECTION. DONT REV IT WHEN YOUR SITTING STILL, AND DONT REV IT TO DOWN SHIFT, JUST PULL IN THE CLUTCH AND SHIFT.

Seriously?! I cant rev my bike to down shift??? He said it as if it was a normal thing and no big deal.

Anyway I took the bike home, 15 miles later it has shut off twice, and it is now back firing a good bit, random pops, poor bottom end, as well as throttle responce.