Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone. I am looking at getting a 2000 V92C so I joined up for recommendations. The bike I am looking at is nice but does have the third gear problem.

I have looked at eBay for a replacement engine/transmission. Not exactly cheap. I am not sure how difficult the swap is since I am a BMW guy and have not worked on a domestic bike since 65.

How hard is the swap, what fits and should I pull the trigger?

·
Registered
374 Posts
That the one the guy was selling for $1k ?
Following this now.
I was tempted to buy just to try doing a swap for fun and a nice bike cheap

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Probably. I am just getting old and think a cruiser might be fun. But being a disabled vet I have to watch my pennies. I would have to save for several months to buy the parts. If it was a BMW I would know the hidden costs involved. Suck not being rich sometimes but the good thing is I never owe taxes :)

·
Registered
374 Posts
If you go with it I'm interested to hear the adventure
I'm sure some of the guys on here have some info to help you out

·
Registered
374 Posts
It sure can be

Where you at ?

·
Registered
4,091 Posts
@tycham Here's two vids you'll want to watch:

Reactions: MaddogUSMC

·
Registered
1,003 Posts
Personally I'd not even consider buying the bike because I like to ride. If something happened to my bike I'd fix it but I certainly wouldn't buy one with major problems from the outset. If I was an experienced bike mechanic and interested in doing that kind of work in my spare time I'd consider it but that's why I'd be looking at it in the first place. Basically, each of us is different and have different situations.