Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello to all. I'm a noob in the purest since of the word. Haven't ridden motorcycles of any sort(dirtbikes back then) since I was about 12. Recently started taking an interest in learning to ride and purchasing my first motorcycle. Oringially was leaning towards a Harley and then discovered victory 8 ball via the recommendation from another site. It's been all consuming since then. Amazing machines. So my question to the good people of the forum is, do you think a used 8 ball is too much for a first bike? Also buying used what is a good price? Thanks and hello.

·
The Diamond
4,001 Posts
As far as price goes a good price is what you think. Use ebay as a source of price point.

I personally don't believe in the idea of getting a "learner" bike. I think you will out grow it in weeks to a few months. Now you have to try and sell it and you will loose good money that you could have put on the 8Ball.

Buy the bike you want and learn on it. Thats what I did with my Jackpot and have no regrets.

BTW...I probably had less time riding before purchasing than you did.

·
Administrator
5,947 Posts
Hello to all. I'm a noob in the purest since of the word. Haven't ridden motorcycles of any sort(dirtbikes back then) since I was about 12. Recently started taking an interest in learning to ride and purchasing my first motorcycle. Oringially was leaning towards a Harley and then discovered victory 8 ball via the recommendation from another site. It's been all consuming since then. Amazing machines. So my question to the good people of the forum is, do you think a used 8 ball is too much for a first bike? Also buying used what is a good price? Thanks and hello.
Why would a well balanced, reliable machine be too much for a first bike? If you want to start your riding experience on a lesser machine, that's fine, but don't expect that to be an advantage in the long run.