Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 146 Posts

·
Registered
259 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys. I figured I would put a thread in the general section since I'm brand new to victory motorcycles and will take ANY ADVICE you have for a newbie.
I have just purchaced a 2004 kingpin and will be picking it up saturday. I know there is a great wealth of information here and I will listen to it all. Lol. From mechanics of the bike to accessories to detailing tips. Anything you want to tell me I'll listen.
Thanks so much guys.

Attachments

·
Registered
799 Posts
Nice looking ride!

Rob

Reactions: Motorbikerx

·
Premium Member
6,230 Posts
Cool bike and welcome

Andre using TaPaTaLk

·
Registered
259 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Let me start with my first question. I'm picking the bike up saturday. Is there any issues I should be looking for? It has 17,000 miles and looks very well taken care of. I'm just not sure of items to check before driving it off the lot.

·
Registered
12,327 Posts
I assume you are buying it from a private party. If so, he can tell you about any mods and when the last oil, plugs, filter change was. If he has service records, get them. Very important you get the owners manual too.
Don't know if you have experience with a big V-twin, but there's a tendency to run in low revs - don't! Vics like to rev and you can not hurt them by doing so. Shift at 3K+. When accelerating hard, I grab around 4500 revs for shifts. Don't ride under 2500 - 3K would be even better.
When starting, wait until the the fuel pump turns off and hold the throttle open about 1/8 turn to prevent backfiring, which can hurt the starter clutch. Hold the starter button until it starts.
In the morning, when the bike is overnight cold, check the clutch cable adjustment at the lever. There should be some free play as seen between the lever and the perch casting - about the thickness of a nickel. Ignoring this can turn into future problems.