Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
103 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Was wondering if I could remove my oil cooler without any problems for motor/trans. I put new exhaust on and it requires to remove cooler and by relocation cooler on left frame rail.. I don't like the look of it and would rather just remove it for good if can be done without any issues ..

Sent from Motorcycle.com Free App

·
Registered
781 Posts
I'm not a pro, but there is no way I would completely remove my oil cooler. Isn't there something you can replace it with that would fit everything in? Oil is a big part of the cooling..

·
Premium Member
8,967 Posts
Was wondering if I could remove my oil cooler without any problems for motor/trans. I put new exhaust on and it requires to remove cooler and by relocation cooler on left frame rail.. I don't like the look of it and would rather just remove it for good if can be done without any issues ..

I wouldn't, an oil coolers not about looks its there for a purpose.
Id get an exhaust that fits.
Up to you though, maybe its really cold where you live and your engine would survive high oil temps.
Plenty of aircooled bikes dont have oil coolers but start hotting up say a 750/4 or an XS650 or a z900 and what did we add?
Yeah right, oil coolers....and a Vic motor surely
Out-Grunts any of those two put together, possibly all three!
Its there for a reason not just to spoil/enhance the looks of the bike.

·
Premium Member
734 Posts
I wouldn't, an oil coolers not about looks its there for a purpose.
Id get an exhaust that fits.
Up to you though, maybe its really cold where you live and your engine would survive high oil temps.
Plenty of aircooled bikes dont have oil coolers but start hotting up say a 750/4 or an XS650 or a z900 and what did we add?
Yeah right, oil coolers....and a Vic motor surely
Out-Grunts any of those two put together, possibly all three!
Its there for a reason not just to spoil/enhance the looks of the bike.