Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
504 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
If anybody has knowledge of the Victory CANbus system that is utilized in the 2011 and on bikes then please step to the head of the class. PLEASE!

Basically I am trying to install a Dakota Digital (DD) MCV-7400 digital speedo/tach on a 2011 XC wiring system and am being told by DD that it cant be done-no reasoning as to why... but I am an electrician by trade and have messed with wires and systems for 30 years now and KNOW that if there is a way to bypass or circumvent an electrical system then it just takes some creative thinking to figure it all out.

The VIC CANbus system for the speedo and tach both use a two-wire signal, a CAN HIGH and a CAN LOW. The DD system only has one wire input for the speedo that is suppose to come from the SPEED SENSOR signal and one wire for the tach that is suppose to come from the COIL(+). All of these inputs and outputs exist on the bike.

So where does the CANbus come into play? where does the two signal wires come from and go to? I have the shop manual schematics and they dont really show 'everything' so thats why Im asking.

I understand the CANbus system as a multi-function communication platform that utilizes hightech stuff to make use of the OBD-II standard for use on bikes now. basically you can hook up a diagnostic reader and read error codes from an ECM just like in a car.

So how do I make a single signal from a two-signal system that the DD system can read to give me a speedo and a tach?

info on CANbus:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/CAN_bus

Info on DD Wiring:
http://www.dakotadigital.com/PDF/MCV-7000.PDF

Info on Vic wiring is Chapter 19/Cross Roads/Country manual:
http://www.egimotors.it/egimotorsparts/index.php?option=com_phocadownload&view=category&download=1202:chapter-19-wiring-lighting-system&id=107:vision-2012-2013&Itemid=104

·
Premium Member
5,632 Posts
so nobody has any knowledge of this stuff?