Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
579 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm not a tire expert so I wonder what the benefit is to putting a bias ply tire on the front and a radial on the back.

The Hard ball was that way, now the XR 8 ball is that way, but the XC 8 ball has radial both front and rear.

All my bikes have been either, but not mixed. What's the benefit? The $$ isn't that much different.

·
Premium Member
5,632 Posts
I'm not a tire expert so I wonder what the benefit is to putting a bias ply tire on the front and a radial on the back.

The Hard ball was that way, now the XR 8 ball is that way, but the XC 8 ball has radial both front and rear.

All my bikes have been either, but not mixed. What's the benefit? The $$ isn't that much different.
My guess is they had an issue running a radial E3 with a tube on the spoked front rim on the HB and LE. Don't see a lot of radials on spoked wheel bikes, though they use the E3 on the rear of those bikes.

If you believe everything you read on the internet, mixing up tires like that is a recipe for instant death, but I haven't seen any recalls on those bikes or the Triumph Speedmaster which runs a bias ply on the rear and a radial up front.

Anyway, I think it's a typo. Their webpage is a cluster right now. Hopefully, it will improve over time. Every picture of the XR 8 ball shows it running an E3 up front.

·
Premium Member
4,872 Posts
Radial rear and bias front is OK.
Radial front and bias rear is a no no...

·
Registered
579 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Anyway, I think it's a typo. Their webpage is a cluster right now. Hopefully, it will improve over time. Every picture of the XR 8 ball shows it running an E3 up front.
You are correct, all the pics show an E3. The E3 does come in a bias, but the website says its an Elite II, not a E3. The tread patterns are totally different.

·
Premium Member
4,872 Posts
Metzeler Catalog Quote:
IMPORTANT NOTE REGARDING TIRE UPGRADES