Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i just added 4" extensions to my Kingpin Tour. When re-installing the banjo bolt on the rear master cylinder the threads stripped out long before my torque wrench hit the 20 lb-ft torque setting. The threads came out attached to the banjo bolt in a single piece -as if they were some cheap pot-metal crap. I've never seen anything like it.

As a long-time Harley rider I'm totally dumbfounded. I have a high-quality click torque wrench and followed the factory service manual for the procedure.

I'm now out $120 for a new master cylinder and am terrified that the new unit will again strip out before reaching the torque specified in the service manual.

Has anyone else suffered a similar fate? What the hell?

·
Registered
545 Posts
It is cheap pot metal made in china... torque wrenches sometimes are not the answer to proper tightening. I have been riding and servicing motorcycles for 50+ years and have never used a torque wrench... go figure. And have never had a problem with not tightening whatever properly.

Screw a nut on a bolt that is run thru something to hold it when you use your torque wrench... then test it with another torque wrench. If you only have the one wrench find a friendly full service mechanic who let you compare your wrench with his.

OR... throw away the torque wrench and learn how to gauge tightening without it.

·
13,188 Posts
Hey you 2 add to your profile where you live.
I might find a rear caliper for you

·
13,188 Posts
Say why not head over to auto store and see about a heli coil kit

·
Registered
151 Posts
i just added 4" extensions to my Kingpin Tour. When re-installing the banjo bolt on the rear master cylinder the threads stripped out long before my torque wrench hit the 20 lb-ft torque setting. The threads came out attached to the banjo bolt in a single piece -as if they were some cheap pot-metal crap. I've never seen anything like it.