Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2011 Cross Country w/multiple adaptations
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Time for a new rear tire (stock showing cord at 10k). I know I'll have to remove the rear pulley to dismount/mount the rear tire. question is SHOULD I get new pulley bolts? Are the pulley bolts inclined to shearing like the HD ones? Thanks

·
Registered
470 Posts
why would you have to take the pulley off to put a tire on? i'm new to vics but have never seen anyone take the pulley off a harley to put a tire on and the vic looks pretty much the same set up.

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
pulley removal

why would you have to take the pulley off to put a tire on? i'm new to vics but have never seen anyone take the pulley off a harley to put a tire on and the vic looks pretty much the same set up.
2 different techs I spoke to tell me that the Vic pulley is too big for their tire machine...hence the pulley removal. I do not know if they are full of S^%&, or not since I have not replaced a rear tire yet.

·
Administrator
5,988 Posts
2 different techs I spoke to tell me that the Vic pulley is too big for their tire machine...hence the pulley removal. I do not know if they are full of S^%&, or not since I have not replaced a rear tire yet.
Mine got replaced at a local (not the most local, but local enough) dealer. They did not take the pulley off - either the techs you spoke with are trying to make more money, either they're using Flintstones equipment, and their main dinosaur is sick. :)

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
pulley bolts

Mine got replaced at a local (not the most local, but local enough) dealer. They did not take the pulley off - either the techs you spoke with are trying to make more money, either they're using Flintstones equipment, and their main dinosaur is sick. :)