Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was in a auto accident 3 weeks ago. I lost my right eye and broke my left arm. I can't ride because of my arm. My question is. When my arm is better will I have a problem riding with just 1 eye? Any feedback would be appreciated.

·
Premium Member
1,501 Posts
I have no personal experience but I'm sure you will adjust. Heal well and be safe!

·
Registered
784 Posts
You will adjust to a point. You still lost 90+ degrees of vision. So that may take a lot of adjusting. I guess you and your conscience will have to decide if you are truly capable. I would hate to have to make the decision, so not envying you a bit.

Sorry to hear about this. Heal quickly and well.

cheers

·
Super Moderator
6,378 Posts
Not only that but your depth perception is gone now. You will have to retrain yourself to anticipate distance because you no longer have stereoscopic vision. It can most definitely be done, however.

[EDIT] Great minds, WABlue :)

·
Registered
1,638 Posts
I see this dude occasionally in my area. He only has one eye. Last year I saw him in a small town at a convenience store. He had his lady with him and had just bought a Victory V92.

I am very sure you will adjust and probably be a better rider and even enjoy it more. Such trauma in our lives shakes us and makes us better human beings. thumb up

Oh! I'd caution you to use the very best eye protection you can find.

·
13,254 Posts
you're going to have to learn to ride all over again.
You will have to learn to keep your head sideways so you can get the best view of the road in front of you.
I would rush into riding again. Wait till your adjusted to having just one eye

·
13,254 Posts
you're going to have to learn to ride all over again.
You will have to learn to keep your head sideways so you can get the best view of the road in front of you.
I would rush into riding again. Wait till your adjusted to having just one eye