Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've bought my first bike, it's a 2004 Victory touring cruiser 1507cc w/ 6000 miles on it. It has sat in a garage for the last 2+ yrs and the battery died and I believe the fuel has fouled. Now it spit and sputters and backfires when revved. I read in another thread something about adjusting the fuel mix ratio by using alligator clips or something (I have tried sea foam) once you get it warm it idles but is seriously lacking power. and has to he feathered in order to get it to move at all... I'm an apprentice and looking for advice. I'm willing to take it to the shop, But I'd like to work on it myself if possible.

·
Premium Member
9,097 Posts
Thoroughly clean the fuel system including the throttle body...the crap they call fuel these days goes bad when it sits.

Reactions: Dude83

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I've been working on that. I noticed that my rubber boot below the throttle body is also showing signs of dry rot... (I've been going to the school of YouTube 😅) so today I ordered a new rubber boot, new O-rings for the injectors, new O-rings and gasket for the throttle body, new spark plugs and I'm installing new fuel line and going to attempt to clean the injectors while they are out... visually everything else looks pretty good so once I get it back assembled we will see how it works
I also found a semi loose connection on the battery (that appeared to be making good contact while starting)
Sucks how hard it appears to be just to change the boot.
I do appreciate your advice. I'm an electrician not a mechanic but I do like the challenge...

·
Premium Member
9,097 Posts
Sounds like you're onto it👍

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Sounds like you're onto it👍