Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I started riding last year...took some good advice and bought a 750 Shadow to learn on and put about 6000 miles on it. Pretty much drove it daily.

This year I would like a Victory and I am really torn on what to buy. The bike will be a daily driver with 90% highway miles. I would also like the ability to take my wife occasionally with again, highway driving of no more than an hour each way. But she needs to be comfortable, or she won't come.

FYI: Before I hit pavement, I do 4 miles of hard pack gravel that has been a non-issue on the Shadow.

My plan is to buy a low mile used bike.

I really like the Cross Country...will I regret buying a tourer as a daily driver?

I am also looking at the Hard Ball and Kingpin tourer, maybe even a Boardwalk.

So....I am a long way from making up my mind and very open to any advice.

·
Registered
4,091 Posts
I really like the Cross Country...will I regret buying a tourer as a daily driver?
Not at all...you'll appreciate a tourer even more.
If you do get a Cross Country and expect to do mostly highway miles you'll want to consider wind and buffeting control.
btw: my wife says if I sell the CC she's going with it... ;)

·
Registered
12,330 Posts
+1 what PaiN said. I have around 300,000 2-up miles and a ton more solo. Wouldn't have anything w/o bags and a windshield. For really long distance touring,my bike of choice would be the XCT, but from your description, the XC is fine, but I would add the Lock & Ride backrest. Get the luggage rack too, while you're at it. I have no brand loyalty, its just that Victory is putting out the best bang for the buck these days and they are so dependable and easy to work on to boot.