Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
207 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have NO experience with sidecars but I'd like to build one, start with a frame, add a Vegas front tire to the sidecar and build the body from fiberglass.

Does anybody have a sidecar on their bike or know where I could get one for cheap? I like the hotrod style that's been floating around the web.

·
Premium Member
1,501 Posts
Unless you have access to tubing, a bender and a welder and know how to use them it could be quite a challenge. Not to mention have you ever ridden with a sidecar? It's a different ride altogether.

·
Registered
207 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I know it changes the ride, but I'd like to take my kids on rides (especially my daughter since she's 9) and feel safer having them strapped into a sidecar. Plus I think for them it'd be more enjoyable. Basically wanted a prefabbed frame and connections and I'd build it up from there.

·
Premium Member
1,501 Posts
By all means go for it. I always had fun with mine. Ebay and Craigslist and suppose lots of motorcycle forums. Good luck and have fun.

·
Registered
2,253 Posts
This might be what you are looking for:
http://www.dmcsidecars.com/sidecars/sidecar-frame/

Check this site out, the people here are very helpful.
http://sidecar.com/mbbs22/category-view.asp

This is the best book I have read on how to drive a sidecar.
Well worth the money. Be sure to read it before you go for your first ride. They really are different but if you read this book and follow it closely you should have no problem transitioning to one.
http://www.whitehorsegear.com/driving-a-sidecar-outfit-2nd-edition

·
Premium Member
6,084 Posts
No disk break on the sidecar wheel ? Thought that should be standard ?

I think sidecars are sooooo cool to see, here many vespa's have sidecars and just love looking at them, so a vic would be way cooler

·
Registered
2,253 Posts
No disk break on the sidecar wheel ? Thought that should be standard ?