Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Bought new handlebars for my KP, looking to run the wires internal. I've seen 18-60watt soldering guns, what will work for what im doing? I've never done this before and probably won't do a lot so im not looking to spend $$$ on a super nice one. Just somthing basic that will get the job done. Thanks!!

·
Registered
48 Posts
Bought new handlebars for my KP, looking to run the wires internal. I've seen 18-60watt soldering guns, what will work for what im doing? I've never done this before and probably won't do a lot so im not looking to spend $$$ on a super nice one. Just somthing basic that will get the job done. Thanks!!
A cheap lower wattage one will work fine for soldering wires. Remember to use flux which will make it a lot easier to solder.

·
Administrator
5,988 Posts
A cheap lower wattage one will work fine for soldering wires. Remember to use flux which will make it a lot easier to solder.
:I agree: +1

Also, since this is your first time, I highly suggest practicing on some scrap wires before you move on to the real deal. Be patient, and practice soldering wires of similar gauge and characteristic. You'll know when you're ready. Try to get strong bond (pull on both wires to check) and try to be as neat as you can (don't make solder sculptures everywhere). Be careful of solder dropping onto the paint of the bike - try to solder away from the bike, and have the front fender and gas tank covered with shop towels when you have to solder on top.

·
13,231 Posts
Take a sample peace of wire and go to radio shack and tell them what your soldering. You Want flex core solder and they have cheap guns.