Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey,

Wondering if anyone can give me suggestions on what my bike's problem could be. I have a 2000 V92C. I noticed an oil leak which looked to be coming from the cam tensioner on the rear cylinder. Basically, the bottom 4 cooling fins at the back would get a build up of oil and eventually drip onto the bottom end casing. I replaced cam tensioner gasket, didn't help. I replaced the cam tensioner and all the associated hardware and that didn't help. I don't see any leak coming from the head gasket and I can't see how oil would work its way up 4 fins from the base gasket. It's hard to tell where the leak is as it is a slow (but steady) leak and accumulates in the cooling fins. I can post pictures later if it helps, but right now I'm thinking about taking it to the shop as I'm only a fair mechanic.

Thanks.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Sorry. I did put Permatex on either side of the gasket when I replaced the cam tensioner. Are you suggesting pulling the bolts and siliconing them too? Thanks.

·
Registered
352 Posts
One other thing to look for is porosity in the inner radius of the cooling fins. My first Vic had this. Thinned out and finally broke through ... just drill it smooth and put some jbweld in the hole

·
Premium Member
2,646 Posts
Sorry. I did put Permatex on either side of the gasket when I replaced the cam tensioner. Are you suggesting pulling the bolts and siliconing them too? Thanks.
Yup the bottom hole goes through to an oil galley

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I'll try taking the bolts out and siliconing them first.

With the porosity, I suppose that would mean pulling and disassembling the engine? That's not something I would see from the outside is it?

·
Registered
352 Posts