Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
146 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just attempted my first oil change on my 07 Vegas. Long story short I appear to have stripped the threads on the drain plug bolt as its just spinning in place. It wont tighten and it wont come out. I feel that whatever needs to be done now is beyond my ability so I'll have to bring it in to the dealership and have them fix it. For several years I've changed the oil on a VW Passat, Toyota Tacoma and Honda Shadow and I've never done this before... Has anyone done anything similar or have any advice?

·
Registered
526 Posts
No bueno. According to my dealer that's a major repair.

·
Registered
367 Posts
I know in the old days once you removed the old plug you could buy a rubber grommet type plug that worked. I suppose you could also rethread the hole a slightly larger size. That does not solve you first problem of removing the old one. Sorry these are probaly poor suggestions, but I am sure the dealer would have much better ideas.

·
Registered
146 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I just happen to have the bike at my uncles place right now. He is a retired mechanic but unfortunately he only dealt with cars and trucks in his day. However he pointed out that my plug is very strange. Its not leaking any oil even though it spins without much resistance. Its almost as if it was just passing through the hole with a nut on the other end. I don't know if thats possible... unless the previous owner stripped it out and then made a quick fix of it by doing this. I guess I'll find out when I bring it into the shop.

·
Premium Member
977 Posts
There is an o-ring between the head of the bolt and the case. There is probably just enough pressure between the two to keep from leaking just yet.I would not ride it that way.
As far as it being an expensive fix, it doesn't have to be.