Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to riding and though I like the styling and have read a lot of good reviews about Victory I have also been told it is best to start with a low CC bike. I've been looking at the vegas 8-ball. I'm just looking for suggestions on what a good beginner bike might be and if I should wait to consider a Victory until I have more experience.

·
Registered
2,699 Posts
This has been discussed several times and there have been numerous suggestions. The only thing that was uncontested was the motorcycle safety course. Look in you local phone directory and/or call motorcycle dealerships to find one. It will cost you $200-$300 dollars but will be completely worth it. You'll most likely learn on a very small cc bike (250) and depending on your state laws you can either get a general license for any cc bike or you may be offered the opportunity to test on a larger bike that will allow you to ride something bigger than 650cc.

The course will teach you the basics of riding, how to control a motorcycle and evasive manuvers that will prove invaluable on the streets. The most important thing it will teach you is if you are actually fit to ride a motorcycle. Example, my daughter wanted a motorcycle badly; she took the course, it scared the crap out of her - it cost me $300 and possible saved her life. Motorcycles aren't like cars, if you're nervous in a car you can get over it but if you're nervous on a motorcycle you're an accident waiting to happen.

This is where the disputes normally start. If you must buy a bike I suggest buying a cheap small bike, 650cc would be best. It will get you used to riding and save you money. Dropping a $600-$700 bike will not have near as much impact as dropping a $14K bike. When you're ready for a bigger bike sell your started bike to someone else that is in your situation.

·
Registered
72 Posts