Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
426 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently installed a 1/4 turn throttle ring. I have never worked on the throttle before so it is all new to me. When I was installing the front cable onto the throttle (closest to the driver) I just pulled it and attached it. Isn't there supposed to be some kind of spring action to this cable retracting it? My bike is an 2006 and if I am not mistaken by the manual the Throttle springs are under the tank and I think I have to remove it. Well the tank is full (winter storage) and from what I can imagine would be awkwardly heavy to remove. Is this correct? I am a bit afraid of removing the tank as I thought I read there is a plastic tube under it that can break easy. Also if you pull the tank how do I cap it off so the gas doesn't spill out? I really appreciate any and all help. thumb up

·
Premium Member
8,844 Posts
Its a brave man who attempts removing a full tank.
Extra weight as well as the danger of breaking fuel nipple means I'd be leaving well alone.
Is your throttle not working properly now or what?
My understanding is you can back off the throttle adjusment wheels at the grip end enough to install the 1/4 throttle ring.
Not that I've installed one but I have had my tank on and off a few times and its easier close to empty.

·
Premium Member
4,178 Posts
syphon the gas out and pull the tank

·
Registered
12,249 Posts
Disconnect the fuel line from the tank, not behind the right cheese wedge. Lift the back of the tank and you'll see the quick connector. Less chance of breaking the nipple on the bottom of the tank.

·
Premium Member
6,152 Posts
Was the throttle snapping back before the 1/4 ring ?

Is the throttle NOT snapping back after the install of 1/4 ring ??

If so, don't look at the springs YET, look at the throttle ring rubbing against something at your handlebar ...

Just an suggestion ?

·
Premium Member
8,844 Posts