Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

Tight budget intake

20K views 45 replies 13 participants last post by  Motorbikerx 
#1 ·
Hi guys so this is my first post on any forums. I would like to start off with I have a 2007 victory Kingpin and I am looking to remove the factory air box. Is there a possibility fabricating a new intake or purchasing a cheap but highly effective intake or air cleaner system that isn't going to break the bank. I've been riding for four years this bike has a stage 1 setup but factory air box I don't know a whole lot about motorcycles but I am looking to get into them a little bit more. I am looking to fabricate one similar to what is attached to this post.

Attachments

See less See more
#3 ·
If you have stage one on the scooter you should have the reusable, high air flow K&N air filter. The air filter access cover should have holes in it. I would leave it just like it is. There have been people that have modified the air filter set up. I don't know how cheap it was.

#5 ·
why not just take a hole saw and drill a few holes in the housing.
Like any improvement to much air, it will lean out the motor and lead to a fuel tuner

#8 ·
#9 ·
Sadly, I do not believe the Ness Ram-Air Intake will work on your 07 scoot. I believe the Steel Frame bikes went to a different intake assembly.

I believe S&S still offers a high flow air cleaner assembly Item #: 41-0021. I put one on my 04 v92tc and was very happy with it. The set-up really cleaned up the area around the engine and helped with performance too.

The down side is that it is not cheap and you will
Land vehicle Motorcycle Vehicle Motor vehicle Car
likely need an EFI tuner. I used a Dobeck, which I was happy with. The folks at Dobeck should be able to help you work around the Stage 1 that is already in place.

S&S® Air Cleaner Kit and Calibration Card For 2003-'07 Victory® Cruiser Models - Polished Billet Aluminum

#12 ·