Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
381 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Getting close to 20K on my OEM front tire & looking for recommended replacement. I definitely want something that will last up to 20K like the Dunlop. My major issue is the handling in the tar snakes, With a rider on the back, running thru the twisties on fresh tar snakes, I had my hands full....felt like I was driving on ice! :mad: My son runs a Metzler on his front & had the same experience, plus I know the Metz is not known for high mileage. I am considering going Bridgestone, based on past experience on a Jap bike, or maybe looking at the new Michelin Commander. However I have heard that the Mich is biased ply & if that is the case, I would not even consider it.
I am open to any suggestions gang. Riding a 2012 Vision.

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
5,632 Posts
Getting close to 20K on my OEM front tire & looking for recommended replacement. I definitely want something that will last up to 20K like the Dunlop. My major issue is the handling in the tar snakes, With a rider on the back, running thru the twisties on fresh tar snakes, I had my hands full....felt like I was driving on ice! :mad: My son runs a Metzler on his front & had the same experience, plus I know the Metz is not known for high mileage. I am considering going Bridgestone, based on past experience on a Jap bike, or maybe looking at the new Michelin Commander. However I have heard that the Mich is biased ply & if that is the case, I would not even consider it.
I am open to any suggestions gang. Riding a 2012 Vision.

Thanks!
You should add your bike to your sig for more specific replies.

A general response is that you aren't going to find a tire that sticks on hot tar snakes. Stick your finger in freshly chewed gum and move it to the right. Your finger won't slide on the gum, if the gum is gooey, it will change forms under your finger. The same thing happens when you run over a hot tar snake.