Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 102 Posts

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is in regards to the recent news that Polaris is ending Victory production:

I have been using the Victory oil-change kit for my 2016 Gunner. I intend to keep this bike for a long time, in spite of Victory's demise.

My question is, if Polaris stops selling this kit, what is the best oil to use as a substitute?

Does anyone know who actually makes this oil? Also, the oil filter - what brand/size is the filter?

Thanks!

·
Registered
262 Posts
I'm debating on buying like 5 of them and storing them until this is figured out. Given the number of Oil threads out there, this debate will go on for a LOOOOONG time unless Victory/Polaris tells us all what is the new approved oil for our bikes.

Which I doubt they will ever do as they charge an arm and a leg for the "Victory Oil Change Kit"

·
Registered
146 Posts
Rotella T6 5w-40 has been my oil for years... on both my bike and diesel truck.
Wix filter part#51356 or Napa Goal 1356 works for our oil filter substitute.

Oil is the least of my worries with Vic going under....

·
Registered
111 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
The manual is very specific that the oil has to be "semi-synthetic". Since I plan to keep this bike for a long time, I just want to be sure I'm buying the right oil.

A friend of mine "supposedly" fried his 106 because he put straight synthetic in his bike instead of the semi-synthetic.

Yeah, Spawn, I thought the same thing... but jeez, 5 of those damned things would be 300 bucks!

·
13,298 Posts
doesn't the Scout Indian use the same oil.

·
Premium Member
9,684 Posts
I have been using the 5W40 T6 FULL SYNTHETIC for 42,000 miles in my Vics . Full Synthetic did not end the life of your buddies motor , something else did .....

·
Registered
570 Posts
The manual is very specific that the oil has to be "semi-synthetic".