Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,250 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yesterday my wife and I took a ride up in our neck of the woods on the Blue Ridge Parkway. We decided to take a different way home after lunch. So we are cruising down the road at 65 and there is a car in front of me in the left lane and a bike ( Harley) in front of me in the same lane about 100 yards ahead. All of a sudden i see he front end shake like hell. This was doing for about 10 secs then boom, he goes over the handle bars and starts rolling down the road. His bike close behind him. I stopped and the car in the other lane stopped. I was an EMT in college ( A LONG TIME AGO) and i always carry a first aid kit on the bike and in my truck. When i got to the guy, he was pretty well beat up and bleeding. I ended up using all the bandages I had and to stop the bleeding from his collar bone( sticking through the skin). The poor guy also had a concussion too. but all in all he fared pretty good considering his speed when that tire blew. Oh yea.. the thing that really blew me away was.. when i was talking to him.. i asked his name.. Carter... told him .. Im Jim.... then looked at his feet. NO f**KING SHOES ???? I said Carter where are your shoes. He said I wore flip flops. My wife and I looked at each other. So flip flops, shorts, and a tee shirt. I whispered to my wife . " If this guy didnt already have a concussion, I would bitch slap him for not wearing pants and boots at least.
The cop came up to me and said where is his shoes and i pointed to the flip flops on the other side of the road. Cop said well at least he had a helmet on.

This guys wife called me late this morning thanking my wife and I for helping and to give me an update. He indeed had a broken collar bone, concussion and serious road rash on every uncovered part of his body but will be fine.

·
Premium Member
5,075 Posts