Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
This is my first time posting on here but have been lurking for a while.
I'm 46 and have been riding since I was 7.
Started off with a Honda 50ZR then a Honda XR80 and a Honda 110 street bike.
Then I got a Suzuki RM 125 and used to have to push it to a curb to start it because I was way too short to touch the ground. Both feet did sit flat on the foot pegs once I got it going though.

In my 20's I had a Suzuki DR 650 and then I finally graduated to an old Harley shovel head that I developed a love hate relationship with.
I loved sitting on it-- hated that it was always broke down.
I'm not trying to bash Harley and I know that's not everyone's experience -- but it was mine.

My situation is this -- I have about $8k to spend on a bike.
I actually like some of the older Victory's, but am concerned about reliability. Mostly all the transmission troubles I've read about.
I'd like to hear from some of those owners of an older Victory.
Would you get a newer bike with the 100 or 106 and newer tranny-- or buy an older v92 and pocket the change?

I'm mostly concerned about reliability since this will be my main ride in the summer months.
Thanks in advance!

Mick

·
Registered
682 Posts
Victory fixed the trans troubles in like 2001 or so. After that, no trans trouble. The 92" motor is stout and lasts long. What kind of riding are you planning on doing?

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the fast reply Ghost_Rider, especially on a Friday evening.

Mostly cruising on Texas back roads but want to take some long distance trips with it.

I mostly just do the speed limit -- or ride with traffic -- and don't really get on it very hard these days.

Hearing about the shortage of Victory dealers and the tranny problems with the older bikes is what makes me leery.

So the tranny problem was eliminated after 2001?