Victory Motorcycle Forum banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
261 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, Call me old..... old fashioned...... old Phart or whatever.

I have been riding for over 40 years......everything from a Hodaka Dirt Squirt, Suzuki 6X Hustler, to a Scott Flying Squirrel, I have been a very lucky man in that regard.

Mostly I have owned motorcycles that have remained totally stock, with some minor exceptions, such as K&N Air Filters (that I began using in 1973). My 1985 Gold Wing Aspencade carried my wife and I, along with luggage enough for 21 days, all over this country and Canada. It was, other than the K&N, dead stock as far as the engine was concerned. Never once did I feel that it was underpowered, no matter the terrain or weather.

Maybe I just don't get it, but why all the performance mods? Does everyone just want more HP? If so, why not buy that hot BMW or Suzuki?

That said, I do appreciate the desire for a nicer sound on a V Twin (no way to make a Gold Wing sound good) and I also appreciate the desire for better breathing and a washable air cleaner. But are all the hundreds if not thousands of dollars of fuel processors, soft ware flashes, cams, etc really needed for a guy that wants to enjoy his bike on long weekends along the east coast and into the Smokey Mountains?

Just curious........ I am totally new to the V-Twin crowd...... well, except for a couple....... The Moto Guzzi 850 LeMans and the Ducati 750SS Desmo we had WAY back when.

·
Registered
75 Posts
Hodaka nice. I had two a looking time ago. I was young though. One was my stepfathers the other one he gave to me. And mods for bikes are just because people can and want to improve on whatever it is they have like bikes, cars, houses. Whatever people own they want to improve. So why not?

Sent from my Motorcycle iPhone app

·
Registered
1,071 Posts
i guess im an old fart too. ive had 7 bikes so far and none
had any mods. not even a k&n filter. it never stopped me